Tremors were felt in Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Sialkot, Murree, Jhelum, Charsadda, Swat, Khyber Agency, Abbottabad, Bajaur, Nowshera, Mansehra, Battagram, Torghar and Kohistan.

AJK Deputy Commissioner said that emergency has been imposed in the hospitals.

The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) and the Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA) have also been issued orders by him to execute rescue operations and collect information on the destruction caused by the quake.

The situation is not the same as it was in 2005, he revealed further adding that rescue teams have also reached the affected areas.